Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Women's Studies

"Russell Sage College Graduates." Photograph. The Sage Colleges Archives & Special Collections.
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History or Credo Reference .
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, use Women's Studies International or ProQuest Central .
Find Background Information
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Covers the role women have played throughout world history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).

 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 

If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book. Click here for a short tutorial explaining how to place a hold on an item.
 

eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.

Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world

eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Find Journal Articles
The best database for Women's Studies is Women's Studies International .

Women's Studies International is an indexing database, therefore, to find the full text of the article, click on the "Find Full Text" link. This link will search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal to determine if there is full text access in another Sage database.
 

You may also limit your search results to only show "Linked Full Text" articles. Select the "Linked Full Text" option under the "Limit To" heading on the "Refine Results" column on the left side of the screen.
 

If full text access is not available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


Other DATABASES to consider searching include:
Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

JSTOR Language & Literature
This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian and German.

ProQuest Central
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

ProQuest Social Sciences
A collection of 14 databases covering the social sciences.

PsycARTICLES
A source of full-text scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by APA and allied organizations.

PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would lick on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.
 

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Primary Sources
Primary source is a term used to describe source material that is closest to the person, information, period, or idea being studied and includes diaries, letters, journals, newspapers, interviews, etc. The Sage Libraries has access to many primary soruces through its print collection, databases and other online resources.
 

Books

Within the Sage Libraries print collection, there are published primary source materials like diaries, personal narratives, and correspondence. To find these items in the Libraries catalog, it is best to create a search string using a subject heading that designates primary source and keywords for your topic.
 

EXAMPLES
su:"personal narratives" and World War II
su:diaries and Nursing
su:correspondence and Civil War


Commonly Used Subject Headings for Primary Sources
su:"personal narratives"
su:diaries
su:correspondence
su:sources
su:interviews
su:"court records"
 

Sage Libraries Databases

Use the following databases when searching for primary source material:

American Women Unrestricted Resource openURL
Expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States.

Discovering American Women's History Online Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Making of America Restricted Resource Some full text available
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
 

Newspapers

Newspapers are also great primary source material. The Sage Libraries has several historic newpaper databases.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Unrestricted Resource
A digital collection of the Library of Congress that provides access to America's historic newspapers from 1836 to 1922.

Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1982) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1982.

Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (1764-1988) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the Hartford Courant from 1764 to 1988.

Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune (1841-1922) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the New York Tribune from 1841 to 1922.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2010. Also contains the Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993), which provides search capability using subject terms and topics.

Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 1996.

 

Online Sources

Many museums, libraries and archives have digitized their collections and make them available online. The following is a sample of available digitized collections and is by no means exclusive.

American Memory Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Library of Congress' American Memory digital collection provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music that document the American experience.

Digital Public Library of America Unrestricted Resource openURL
A portal that brings together the digital collections of libraries, archives and museum in order to provide open and coherent access.

National Archives Online Public Access Catalog Unrestricted Resource openURL
The online public portal to the records of the National Archives.

New York State Archives Digital Collections Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The digital collections including images, audio and video of the New York State Archives.

New York Heritage Digital Collections Unrestricted Resource
A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State.

New York State Library Digital Online Collections Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images
A collection of New York State materials with a large array of 18th and 19th century historical items from many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history. While books make up the core collection, other primary source materials include letters, diaries, rare manuscripts, historic photographs, illustrations, maps, broadsides, drawings and music scores.

Women Working, 1800-1930 Unrestricted Resource
Women Working is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. The collection features manuscripts, personal papers, institutional records, books, magazines, trade catalogs and photographs.
Websites
Below are additional web resources that may be helpful:

The Helen M. Upton Center for Women's Studies at Russell Sage College

Center for American Women and Politics
The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation.

The Center for Gender and Justice
The Center for Gender and Justice seeks to develop gender-responsive policies and practices for women and girls who are under criminal justice supervision. The Center is committed to research and to the implementation of policies and programs that will encourage positive outcomes for this underserved population.

Feminist Majority Foundation
An organization dedicated to women's equality, reproductive health, and non-violence.

National Women's Hall of Fame
The National Women’s Hall of Fame is the nation’s oldest membership organization dedicated to recognizing and celebrating the achievements of great American women.  This esteemed group grows with each Induction Ceremony and as women continue to influence and shape the arts, athletics, business, education, government, humanities, philanthropy and science.

National Women's Studies Association
Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings.

"Women Watch" UN Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality
Womenwatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system, including the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women), the United Nations Secretariat, regional commissions, funds, programmes, specialized agencies, and academic and research institutions.
Subject Specialist
Amy Pass
Information Literacy Librarian
passa@sage.edu
518-244-3106
 
Other Research Guides:
Humanities
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Citing Sources

General Online Guides


Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library. Be sure to consult with your professor to see if a certain style is required.
Keyword Search Tips
  1.  Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: gender identity, sex role, feminism, sexuality, feminist, or sex differences
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "women AND government"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "feminism OR feminist"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "the women's movement"

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

 
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image