Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Sociology

Wolcott, Marion Post. Farmers and townspeople in the center of town on Court Day, Campton, Ky. September 1940. http://loc.gov/pictures/resource/fsac.1a34378/

Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference, CQ Researcher Online, or the International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences.
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Library Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, use Sociological Abstracts.
Find Background Information
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can be used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

CQ Researcher Online Restricted Resource
Offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues with reports on a wide range of topics including health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime and civil liberties.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Unrestricted Resource
A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
Find Journal Articles
The best database for Sociology is Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts is an indexing database so only the article's abstract is available. Therefore, to find the full text of the article, click on the "Find Full Text" link. This link will search the Sage Libraries' "Journals by Title" portal to determine if there is full text access in another Sage database.
 

After clicking on the "Find Full Text" link, you'll be brought to the "Journals by Title" portal. This will help you determine whether or not full text is available in another Sage database. If available, click on the "Article" link in the data range that matches the date of your article. This will bring you directly to the full text of the article.
 


If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
 

Other Databases for Sociological Research

Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts Restricted Resource
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.

ProQuest Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of 14 databases covering the social sciences.

Sage Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource
Bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, community development.


Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries "Journals by Title" portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would lick on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. A keyword search looks for the exact word or words you typed exactly as you typed them in all the fields of the catalog. This means you will be searching titles, authors, subject headings, and publishers.

Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to limit your search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record.
 

If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.  The book will be brought to your home campus library and held for you at the front desk. You will receive an email when the item is ready for pick-up.
 

eBooks

eBooks are searchable within the Sage Libraries Catalog. They may be checked out and downloaded to an ereader. See here for downloading instructions. You may also search our eBook databases.

Ebook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central Restricted Resource
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.
PsycBooks Restricted Resource
A database of book chapters from books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.

If the book is an ebook, click the ONLINE RESOURCES link for access.
 


Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Data Sources
Here are some selected resources for finding data and statistics:

AARP Research Center Unrestricted Resource
National and state-based research on the needs, concerns and interests of midlife and older adults.

American FactFinder Unrestricted Resource
Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data comes from serveral censuses and surveys.

Bureau of Justice Statistics Unrestricted Resource
Provides access to data on crime, ciminal offenders, victims of crime and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Unrestricted Resource
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

Childstats.gov Unrestricted Resource
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families.

General Social Survey (GSS) Unrestricted Resource
The GSS is widely regarded as the single best source of data on societal trends. The 1972-2012 GSS has 5,545 variables, time-trends for 2,072 variables, and 268 trends having 20+ data points.

National Center for Health Statistics Unrestricted Resource
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance including: diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and population, and health care and insurance.

New York State Data Center Unrestricted Resource
A valuable source for economic and demographic information in New York State.
Subject Specialist
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Citing Sources
Print copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.  Online guides are also available.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL at Purdue)
W.W. Norton's Little Seagull Handbook

Be sure to check with your professor to see if a certain style is required.
Browsing Sociology Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. The major sections for sociology are:
 
HM Sociology (general)
HN
Social history & conditions, social problems, social reform
HQ
The family, marriage, women
HS
Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.
HT
Communities, classes, races
HV
Social pathology, social & public welfare, criminology

In the Shea Learning Center (Troy Campus), section HM is located on the 2nd and 3rd floors while sections HN - HV are located on the 2nd floor. In the SCA Learning Center, they can be found in the basement.
Keyword Search Tips
  1. Add one of these words to your search terms: sociology, social or socialization
  2. Add one of these phrases to your search terms: "social aspects," "sociological aspects," or "sociology of"
  3. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
Evaluating Websites
You should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable, accurate or creditable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Other Sources for Research
American Sociological Association Research Department Unrestricted Resource
The Research Department of the American Sociological Association collects primary and secondary data, builds and maintains databases and disseminates findings in a variety of formats for a diverse audience.

The Socjournal Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
The Socjournal is a new media journal intended to offer sociologists a window into the world of new media communications.

Sociologica Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
An online peer-reviewed journal that publishes theoretical, methodological and empiricial articles. The contents are freely available, but registration is needed.



*Please remember to access Google Scholar via the Libraries website so full text articles available from the Sage Libraries are linked*