Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    Gmail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Physical Therapy
Physical Therapy Photo
From the Sage College Department of Health Sciences Website
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference or Gale Virtual Reference Library
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, please consult the List of Health Science databases.
Find Journal Articles

The following databases are the most relevant for Physical Therapy topics:

ABI/Inform Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal

Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.

Medline Restricted Resource Some full text available
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)- PEDro is a free database of over 29,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

ProQuest Health & Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
A subset of 11 proquest databases covering the health sciences.

Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
 

The following databases might also be useful depending on your topic:

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Article First Restricted Resource
OCLC index of articles from contents pages of journals.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.}

Google Scholar

Newspaper Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers and selective fulltext for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.



ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

Physical Education Index Restricted Resource
A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more.

Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Restricted Resource
A source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types - academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
 

Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.


If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 

If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Find Scholarly Journals Articles
What are scholarly journals? Scholarly journals, which may also be peer-reviewed or refereed journals, are academic journals that contain material that is intended for scholars or researchers in the author's field of specialty. Publishers of peer-reviewed or refereed journals follow a process where experts in the field evaluate submitted articles before they are accepted to be published. This ensures that the content is as valid and reliable as possible.

How do I know if a journal is scholarly? Scholarly journals can often be identified by searching our library research databases. Many of those databases, like EBSCOhost and ProQuest, allow you to limit your search results to only those journals that are peer-reviewed or scholarly. Some databases, like ScienceDirect, include only scholarly material.
 

Find Scholarly Journals in Academic Search Elite

If you are in the "Basic Search" mode in Academic Search Elite, Scroll down under "Limit your results" and you will see the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box in the right column.
 

If you are in the "Results List" screen, look in the left column for "Limit to...,"click on the "Show More" link and you will see a "Peer Reviewed" box on the next screen.
 


Find Scholarly Journals in ProQuest Databases

If you are on the main search screen, check the "peer reviewed" box under the search box.
 


If you are on the "Results" page, look in the right column and click on "Peer reviewed" under the "Narrow results by."
 
Subject Specialist
 
Terry Wasielewski
Technical Services Librarian
wasiet@sage.edu
518-244-2435
 
Other Research Guides:
Creative Arts in Therapy
Fine Arts
Graphic Design
Interior Design
Nutrition
Occupational Therapy  
Photography
 
Ask a Librarian
In person:
Information Desk Hours
 
By phone:
(518) 244-2431

 
By email:
libref@sage.edu
 
By online chat:
Ask Us 24/7
 
Schedule an appointment
with a Research Librarian
Keyword Search Tips
  1. Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: physical therapy technician, geriatric, manual therapy.
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "geriatric physical therapy and arthritis"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "motor skills or self-regulation"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "vestibular rehabilitation"
For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Useful Websites

Statistical Resources

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Statistics- The CDC website displays statistics on a variety of diseases and conditions. The site also provides information on healthy living as well as materials to help track conditions and at risk behaviors.

Cornell University's Disability Statistics- A comprehensive data set of disablity statistics in the United States.

US Dept. of Labor - Physical Therapists- Descriptive information on the Physical Therapy profession including: median salary, job outlook, employment changes, and educational requirements.

 

Organizational Resources

American Physical Therapy Association Evidence and Research- Offers information and research tools on evidence-based practice. This site also includes links to free physical therapy databases and access to the Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association which provides recent full-text articles, podcasts and videos.

National Institutes of Health Image Bank- The NIH Image Bank contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care-related images, microscopy images, and various exterior images.

National Rehabilitation Information Center- The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). The organization catalogs, and disseminates articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by (NIDRR).

 

Educational / Interactive Resources

CUErgo (Cornell University Ergonomics Web)- CUErgo presents information from research studies and class work by students and faculty in the Cornell Human Factors and Ergonomics Research Group (CHFERG). CHFERG  focuses on ways to enhance usability by improving the ergonomic design of hardware, software, and workplaces to enhance people's comfort, performance, and health.

Human Anatomy Online- Interactive online anatomy resource.

KhanAcademy: Anatomy and Physiology- Educational resource for understanding different aspects of anatomy and physiology. The written information is supported with multimedia and images.

PhysicalTherapist- A general Physical Therapy resource that offers articles, jobs, and educational resources about the profession.

Physical Therapy Web- Blog posts and articles by physical therapists on a variety of subject from the field. The site is also a resource for jobs and organizational information.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)- PEDro is a free database of over 29,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Researching APTA and Physical Therapy History-This source is recommended by APTA's Information Resources Department for those interested in researching (or preserving) APTA or physical therapy history.

Trip- Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Citing Sources

General Online Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Browsing Physical Therapy Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection.  The majority of physical therapy books can be found in the following sections:
 
RC581-951 Specialities of internal medicine
RC952-1245 Special situations and conditions
RD792 – RD811 Orthopedic surgery, physical rehabilitation
RM214-258 Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks
RM259 Vitamin therapy
RM695-893 Physical medicine. Physical therapy. Including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, hydrotherapy, phototherapy, radiotherapy, thermotherapy, electrotherapy
RM930-931 Rehabilitation therapy
RM950 Rehabilitation technology