Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Psychology

Image via www.apa.org
Getting Started
1.  Search for peer-reviewed ARTICLES in PsycINFO or PsycARTICLES . Note:  All PsycArticles are repeated in PsycInfo.  See box:  "PsycArticles vs. PsycInfo?  What's the difference?

2.  Search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage Colleges, use the Libraries Catalog. Also, consider using our online database of PsycBooks a database of book chapters from books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.

3.  Consider searching for ARTICLES in other related subject databases: Medline , Sociological Abstracts

4.  Try searching in a broad general database that covers many subject areas: ProQuest Central
Find Journal Articles: PsycInfo
To start your search in the largest psychology database, go to PsycINFO

Remember to click the "peer reviewed" box on the search pages when you type in subject terms. Your faculty members typically expect that you will be consulting peer-reviewed literature (articles that have been reviewed by an editorial panel for validation of the content) when you write your research papers.  If you are already in the "Results List" screen in PsycInfo, look in the left column for "Limit to...," you will see a "peer reviewed" box below the "Limit to..." heading. 
 


If you are in the "Basic Search" mode in PsycInfo, scroll down under "Search Options" to "Limit your results".  You will see the "peer reviewed" box in the left column.
 


                                                                                    

Locating Journal Articles

In PsycInfo, you will see a link for:        Click on this link.  It should take you to a Sage Libraries page that indicates if we have coverage of the article.  You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article.  For example, if your article was within the date range shown below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

Sometimes in PsycInfo you will see other links that you can click on to connect directly to an article, examples are below:
 

Other databases will often provide links to journal articles. Look for "Find Full Text" somewhere on the page, or "link to article," or "pdf full text," etc. 

Some other databases may provide only abstracts, therefore, full text is not available. Use the Journals by Title tab on the Libraries website to see if there is full text access to your journal title in another database at Sage Colleges.  If full text access is not available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Find Journal Articles: PsycArticles
Finding articles in PsycArticles follows the same process as finding articles in PsycInfo.  You will not have to click on a "peer reviewed" box in PsycArticles because all of the articles in the database are already peer reviewed.

You will notice that the software that runs the PsycArticles page is the same software that runs the PsycInfo page, so any search techniques that you use in one database will work in the other database.
In PsycArticles you can click on  to go directly to the article. 

Lastly, all of the content from PsycArticles is embedded in the PsycInfo database. 
How to Find Subject Headings in PsycInfo
When you begin searching in PsycInfo, first type in any keywords that you think are appropriate for your search.  You will see a "results" list.  The most recent articles appear first, older articles appear on subsequent screens.

The first records that you see are brief records.  If you click on the title of any of the brief records you will see a longer record that describes the article more fully.  You will note subject headings and an abstract for the article you selected.
 


It's a good idea to examine the subject headings closely.  By looking at the "Subjects" listed after the abstract in  the longer record, you will begin to get an idea of which headings fit your topic.  By using these subject headings as you continue to search, you will increase the precision of your search.   You may also refer to the "keywords" shown just above the abstact to get additional ideas for words to add to your search.  

It's also a good idea to click on the titles of several articles so that you can examine subject headings in multiple records.  There may be several subject headings that describe your topic differently as you move from article to article.   

Here's an example:  I typed in "aggression" as a subject heading.  I clicked on the title of a few records and examined the subject headings in each article.  Some of the subject headings and keywords that I saw mentioned "aggressive behavior", "criminal behavior" and "personality traits" as other possible words that could help with this search.   
How to refine your search in PsycInfo
After you have figured out the best subject headings or keywords to use, you can start to refine your search with tools provided by PsycInfo.

First, type in your subject words or key words, hit "search," and then wait for a set of results to appear.  You have to create a set of results before you can "refine" or "limit" them. 

Now, look at the left column of the CINAHL search screen...you will see a column labelled, "Refine Results."  Under that you will see "Limit To" and several options under it.  
 


Limit by Publication Date:  This option allows you to limit the articles that you retrieve to certain years.  Use the slider tool that you see near "Publication Dates" to change the date, or type the dates that you want into the boxes provided. 

Age:  Further down in the left column, you will see "Age."  Click on that and use the choices provided to limit your search to a certain sub-section of the population.

Source types:  You can limit your search by "academic journals", "books", etc. 
Other Databases related to Psychology
You may find that related databases help you retrieve relevant information when your psychology topic is broad and crosses over into other subject databases or into other broader databases, for example, "mental health care benefits" or "cyberbullying".   Here are some databases to try:

Medline
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.

PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

A broad subject database that many students use is ProQuest Central

If you want peer reviewed articles in the Proquest database, check the "peer reviewed" box under the search box.



For additional database options at Sage Colleges, please consult the "research databases" tab on the library home page.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 

If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, in storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 

eBooks

While eBooks are searchable within the Sage Libraries Catalog, they may also be searched separately. They may be checked out and downloaded to an ereader. Click here for instructions.

Ebook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central Restricted Resource
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.
PsycBooks Restricted Resource
A database of book chapters from books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.


​Not finding what you need? Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
Lisa Brainard
Director
brainl@sage.edu
518-244-2430
  Other Subject Guides:
Biology
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Environmental Studies
Nursing
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

PsycArticles vs. PsycInfo?
PsycInfo covers articles from over 2,500 scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations.  This database provides comprehensive coverage of psychology literature from all over the world and from many publishers.  There are over 3 million records in this database. 

The library subscribes to many full-text journals in this database, but not all articles covered are available via full-text.  Students can use Inter-Library Loan to obtain articles that appear in journals to which we don’t subscribe.
 
PsycArticles covers almost 80 scholarly journal journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and ahandful of other publishers affiliated with APA.   There are over 150,000 records in this database.
Searching PsycArticles  will help you locate excellent content…but be aware that you are missing out on a very large pile of psychology journals, not published by APA, and not included in this database.  All of the articles in PsycArticles are also indexed and included in PsycInfo.  One advantage to using PsycArticles though is that all of the content is full-text. 

Recommendation:  Decide how comprehensive your search needs to be.  Do you want to cover all of the world’s literature or just APA-published content?
Other Psychology Reference Sources
Psychiatry Online   This online collection of key resources for mental health professional includes electronic versions of some important reference titles: 
 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual
of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition
DSM-5 Clinical Cases
DSM-5 Handbook of
Differential Diagnosis

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Information and reviews of English language standardized testing covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, as well as psychology and related areas.

Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology
A multi-volume reference in the field of experimental psychology.

Psychotherapy.net
Streaming video collection featuring demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions, covering a wide range of modalities, populations and approaches.
Citing Sources
Two electronic versions of APA information about citing sources may help you:

APA style simplified writing in psychology, education, nursing, and sociology
APA style guide to electronic references

Paper copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image