Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    Gmail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Nutrition
Photo via the Sage Colleges Nutrition Department website.
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, please consult the List of Health Science databases.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 

If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Find Journal Articles
The following are the best databases for nutrition topics:

Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.

Cochrane Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.



Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.

Medical Evidence Matters Restricted Resource Some full text available
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.

Medline Restricted Resource Some full text available
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

PubMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.


 

Locating Journal Articles

When searching for journal articles in the Sage databases, you will need to determine whether the Sage Libraries has full text access. If full text of a particular article is available, you will see links to the "PDF Full Text" and/or "HTML Full Text." These links will take you to the article's full text. You may also see a "Find Full Text" link. Click on this link to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal to determine if there is full text access in another Sage database.

Some databases only provide abstracts so full text is not available. Use the Journals by Title portal on the Libraries website to see if there is full text access in another database.

If full text access is not available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Internet Guides and Resources
Below is list of reliable internet resources to use:

NIH Office of Dietary Supplements Unrestricted Resource
Excellent source of information on dietary supplements. Information on specific supplements, citation databases and nutrient recommendations under "Health Information"

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition Unrestricted Resource
Very comprehensive site offering a variety of online resources and recent news on food safety and applied nutrition.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans Unrestricted Resource
Information on different diets available and how to balance foods.

Food & Nutrition Information Center Unrestricted Resource
Provides a directory to accurate, credible and practical resources for consumers, professionals and educators.

Foodsafety.gov Unrestricted Resource
Provides links to information on safe food handling and storage.

National Guideline Clearinghouse Unrestricted Resource
Provides an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines.

Nutrient Data Laboratory Unrestricted Resource
Users can search for food ingredients by entering keywords into the database. Other general nutrient information is presented.

 Nutrition Tip Sheets Unrestricted Resource
Sponsored by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Tip sheets cover a wide range of topics providing nutrition facts along with healthy eating tips and recipes.

USDA Nutrient Database Unrestricted Resource
Allows users to get nutrient values on food along with percent RDA by gender.
Subject Specialist
 
Terry Wasielewski
Technical Services Librarian
wasiet@sage.edu
518-244-2435
 
Other Research Guides:
Creative Arts in Therapy
Fine Arts
Graphic Design
Interior Design
Occupational Therapy  
Photography
Physical Therapy
 
Ask a Librarian
In person:
Information Desk Hours
 
By phone:
(518) 244-2431

 
By email:
libref@sage.edu
 
By online chat:
Ask Us 24/7
 
Schedule an appointment
with a Research Librarian
Browsing Nutition Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. While nutrition books can be found throughout the Libraries, the majority of nutrition books can be found in the following sections:
 
GT2853 Customs relating to foods and beverages
HD9000 – HD9019
Food supply, produce trade, grocery trade, beverage industry
QP141 – QP185.3
Nutrition and metabolism
QP53 – QP772
Minerals, proteins, amino acids, carbs, lipids, vitamins
QR115 – QR129
Food microbiology
RA645 .N87
Public health aspects of nutrition
RC620 – RC632
Nutritional and metabolic disease
RJ53 .P37
Parenteral nutrition for infants and children
RJ206 – RJ216
Nutrition and feeding of infants and children
RJ360 – RJ400
Metabolic and nutritional diseases of children, infants
RK281
Nutrition and dentistry
RM214 – RM267
Diet therapy and special foods
SB175 – SB177
Food crops
TP368 – TP684
Food processing and manufacture
TS1950 – TS1981
Animal products
TS2120 – TS2159
Cereals, grains, milling industry
TX341 – TX641
Nutrition, foods and food supply
TX642 – TX840
Cookery

In the Shea Learning Center (Troy Campus), these sections are located in the basement floor. In the SCA Learning Center, they can be found on the second floor.
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in both the Troy and Albany libraries.