Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    Gmail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Nursing

"RSC Nursing Graduates." Photograph. The Sage Colleges Archives & Special Collections. 
Getting Started
1.  Search for peer-reviewed nursing ARTICLES in CINAHL
2.  Search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage Colleges, use the Libraries Catalog.
3.  Consider searching for ARTICLES in other related subject databases: Medline , PsycINFO , Sociological Abstracts
4.  Consider searching in a broad general database that covers many full-text subject areas: ProQuest Central
Find Journal Articles
The best database to use for NURSING ARTICLES is: CINAHL

Remember to click the "peer reviewed" box on the main search page.      

If you are in the "Results List" screen in CINAHL, look in the left column for "Limit to...," click on the "Show More" link and you will see a "peer reviewed" box on the next screen.
 
​​

If you are in the "Basic Search" mode in CINAHL, scroll down under "Search Options."  You will see the "peer reviewed" box in the right column.
 
 

Locating Journal Articles

In CINAHL, you will see a link for:        Click on this link.  It should take you to a Sage Libraries page that indicates if we have coverage of the article.  You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article.  For example, if your article was within the date range shown below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

Sometimes in CINAHL you will see other links that you can click on to connect directly to an article, examples are below:
 

Other databases will often provide links to journal articles. Look for "Find Full Text" somewhere on the page, or "link to article," or "pdf full text," etc. 

Some other databases may provide only abstracts, therefore, full text is not available. Use the Journals by Title tab on the Libraries website to see if there is full text access to your journal title in another database at Sage Colleges.  If full text access is not available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  
How to Find Subject Headings in CINAHL
When you begin searching in CINAHL, first type in any keywords that you think are appropriate for your search.  You will see a "results" list.  The most recent articles appear first, older articles appear on subsequent screens.

The first records that you see are "brief" records.  If you click on the "title" of any of the brief records you will see a longer record that describes the article more fully.  You will note "subject headings" and an "abstract" for the article you selected. 
 

It's a good idea to examine the subject headings closely.  By looking at the "Major Subject Headings" and the "Minor Subject Headings" shown in  the longer record, you will begin to get an idea of which headings fit your topic.  By using these subject headings as you continue to search, you will increase the precision of your search. 
 

It's also a good idea to click on the titles of several articles so that you can examine subject headings in multiple records.  There may be several subject headings that describe your topic differently as you move from article to article.   

Here's an example:  I typed in "parenteral feeding" as a subject heading.  I clicked on the title of a few records and examined the subject headings in each article.  It turns out that the CINAHL indexers use the expression, "parenteral nutrition."  My retrieval is much better when I use the subject heading provided by the CINAHL indexers. 
How to refine your search in CINAHL
After you have figured out the best subject headings or keywords to use, you can start to refine your search with tools provided by CINAHL.

First, type in your subject words or key words, hit "search," and then wait for a set of results to appear.  You have to create a set of results before you can "refine" or "limit" them. 

Now, look at the left column of the CINAHL search screen...you will see a column labelled, "Refine Results."  Under that you will see "Limit To" and several options under it.  
 


Limit by Publication Date:  This option allows you to limit the articles that you retrieve to certain years.  Use the slider tool that you see near "Publication Dates" to change the date, or type the dates that you want into the boxes provided. 

Age:  Further down in the left column, you will see "Age."  Click on that and use the choices provided to limit your search to a certain sub-section of the population.

Peer-Reviewed:  The "Peer Reviewed" limit box is hiding in the first part of the "Limit To" list.   Find the "Show More" link just below the publication date information, click on "Show More" and you will get to a screen that provides a lot of limit options.  Find the "Peer Reviewed" box in the right column, and click on it to retrieve just peer reviewed literature. 
Other Databases related to Nursing
You may find that related databases help you retrieve relevant information when your nursing topic is broad, for example, "nursing politics" or "health care delivery." Here are some databases to try:

Medline
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.
PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

A broad subject database that many students use is ProQuest Central

If you want peer reviewed articles in the Proquest database, check the "peer reviewed" box under the search box.



For many additional database options at Sage Colleges, please consult the "research databases" tab on the library home page.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 

If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, in storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.


​Not finding what you need? Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
Lisa Brainard
Director
brainl@sage.edu
518-244-2430
 
Other Subject Guides:
Biology
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Environmental Studies
Psychology
 
Ask a Librarian
In person:
Information Desk Hours
 
By phone:
(518) 244-2431

 
By email:
libref@sage.edu
 
By online chat:
Ask Us 24/7
 
Schedule an appointment
with a Research Librarian
Citing Sources
Two electronic versions of APA information about citing sources may help you:

APA style simplified writing in psychology, education, nursing, and sociology
APA style guide to electronic references

Paper copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Health Statistics
The following sites are best for health statistics:
  1. NYS Department of Health - Data & Reports
  2. NYS Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS)
  3. New York State Statistics
  4. 2014 NYS Statistical Yearbook
  5. American Fact Finder   Use this site to locate census tract numbers for specific neighborhoods. Nsg 402 & 408, start here!  Click on these tabs in sequence:
     
                  

        

                       
           (find this tab in middle of screen)

6.   Healthy People 2020
7.   National Center for Health Statistics
8.  USA.com

Some other health statistic sites:
Albany County
Centers for Disease Control
MedlinePlus
Pan American Health Organization
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image