Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Business Adminstration and Management
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND and COMPANY information, use Hoover's Company Records and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite, and ProQuest Business
Find Journal Articles

Databases for Business Administration and Management Research


ABI/Inform Dateline Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business, Economics: local and regional business publications

ABI/Inform Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals

Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Banking Information Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the finanical services industry, banking, and industry trends.



Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource
Business reference information, including company fundamentals and histories, investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles and market share data.

Business Review (Albany) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text access to local business news and resources, including the Book of Lists.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Restricted Resource
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Ebook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.

Hoover's Company Records Restricted Resource
Corporate data, industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information resources compiled specifically for the news, business, legal and medical research needs of academic institutions.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries on inventors, theoreticians, industry leaders, markets, industries and labor.

ProQuest Business Restricted Resource
A subset of Proquest databases covering business and related subjects.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Coverage for regional business publications.

Sage Journal Portal - Business & Economics Restricted Resource
Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including Business & Economics.

Snapshot Series Restricted Resource
International market research overviews.

Value Line Restricted Resource
Financial data and analysis from Value Line's publications, covering stocks, mutual funds, options, convertible securities, and more.

WestlawNext Restricted Resource
A legal database that includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.


Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would lick on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 

eBooks

While eBooks are searchable within the Sage Libraries Catalog, they may also be searched separately. They may be checked out and downloaded to an ereader. See here for downloading instructions.

Ebook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central Restricted Resource
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
Regina Vertone
Access Services Librarian
vertor@sage.edu
518-292-1784
  Other Subject Guides:
Accounting
Health Services Administration
Organizational Management
 
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Citing Sources
General Online Guides:

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Business classes typically use APA or MLA citation styles. Copies of both APA or MLA Handbooks are available at the Albany and Troy Sage Libraries Reference Desks.
Suggested Websites
A few websites to help you get started or guide your research -

American Fact Finder - Source of economic, geographic, housing, and population data from U.S. Census Bureau. Great for researching demographic trends.

Business Dynamics Statistics - From the Census Bureau; provides unique informaton by firm and size.

BusinessUSA - Government portal to most business related government agencies

Industry Information Resources - Provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for over 400 industries

National Center for Charitable Statistics  New - provides multiple resources for locating statistics on non-profits and charitable organizations

U.S Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) - the latest U.S economic indicators
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image