Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
PERSISTENT LINKS
QUICK CHECK FOR UPDATING AND CREATING LINKS
To quickly update old links and  ensure new ones have the right code, paste link into notepad and do the following :
 
STEP 1: (Updates the beginning string)
 
 
STEP 2: (Updates code that may be embedded in the middle of the link)
 
To ensure the link does not return errors, you should follow the above two steps for both updating old links and creating new links. 
WHAT ARE PERSISTENT LINKS?
Persistent links are stable URLs that will not change over time. If your course materials link to articles in the Sage Library holdings, the URLs must be formatted as persistent links. A persistent link begins with the proxy string, ensuring the article can be accessesd both on- and off-campus.


Direct links to Sage Library e-resources must start with this proxy prefix:
https://sagecolleges.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

An example of a persistent link made up of two parts: the proxy string followed by the article URL

UPDATING OLD PERSISTENT LINKS
By June 1st, 2017, persistent links must contain the new proxy string. If your course materials include persistent links with the old proxy string, you will need to update the URLs in one of two ways:

OPTION 1: Update your existing links with the new proxy string:
   
    Delete the OLD proxy string from your link:  

      http://library.sage.edu:2048/login?url=

    And replace it with the NEW proxy string:
     https://sagecolleges.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

OPTION 2: Find and use a new persistent link from a database platform (see next section).


----------------- IMPORTANT: FINAL LINKS NEED TO BE CHECKED AS FOLLOWS -------------------------------------------

Whether you use OPTION 1, OPTION 2, or OPTION 3, the resulting link SHOULD NOT contain the following code. 


library.sage.edu:2048

This code may slip into your link depending on the database and your location, on or off campus.  It can appear anywhere in the link not just at the beginning. 

To ensure this code has been replaced, paste the link you create or edit to notepad and do the following:

FIND What: 
library.sage.edu:2048
REPLACE With sagecolleges.idm.oclc.org
CREATING NEW PERSISTENT LINKS
There are three options for creating a new persistent link:

OPTION 1:
    Locate the item in Quick Search, and copy/paste the “permanent link” URL. See the next section for instructions.

OPTION 2:
    Locate the item in a Sage Library database, and follow the directions below to find/copy the persistent link provided by the database. Make sure this link contains the proxy string. ​        

    Click on the database platform name below for instructions on retrieving a persistent link:
    ProQuest                   EBSCOhost                  Ovid                

OPTION 3:
    Copy/paste the article's DOI at the end of the proxy string. DOI instructions.

----------------- IMPORTANT: FINAL LINKS NEED TO BE CHECKED AS FOLLOWS -------------------------------------------

Whether you use OPTION 1, OPTION 2, or OPTION 3, the resulting link SHOULD NOT contain the following code.


library.sage.edu:2048

This code may slip into your link depending on the database and your location, on or off campus.  It can appear anywhere in the link not just at the beginning. 

To ensure this code has been replaced, paste the link you create or edit to notepad and do the following:

FIND What: 
library.sage.edu:2048
REPLACE With sagecolleges.idm.oclc.org
QuickSearch
For ANY resource in the Library collection, you can use the 'permanent link' generated in the QuickSearch record.

This will bring students to the QuickSearch search result for that item, where they would follow the "Full Text Online" link to view the full text. 

TO FIND THE QUICKSEARCH PERSISTENT LINK:




ProQuest Databases
ProQuest databases provide a complete persistent link in each item record. When viewing the article record in ProQuest,
click on the "Abstract/Details" link, then scroll down to find the "Document URL" listed toward the bottom of the page. 
This is the complete persistent link, and no changes need to be made. 



 
 
EBSCOhost Databases
EBSCOhost databases provide a link called "Permalink" on the right side of each item record.

Journals at Ovid
To find the persistent link to an article on the Ovid platform, click on "Email Jumpstart" when viewing the article:

USING DOIs TO CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS
To create a persistent link using a DOI, add the DOI to the end of this string:

https://sagecolleges.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

Example:
WHY DO WE NEED PERSISTENT LINKS?
Persistent links are stable URLs that will not change over time. They will work whether a student is clicking the link on or off campus.

Persistent links also help ensure that we comply with copyright law. It is best to send students a persistent link URL directing them to an online article, instead of distributing a PDF or hard copy, which may violate publisher copyright.