Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
International & Globalization Studies

  Image via https://uncgsoc344.wordpress.com/
Getting Started
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference  or Gale Virtual Reference Library
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite or ProQuest Central
Find Journal Articles

The following databases are the most relevant for International & Globalization Studies topics:


Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

ABI/Inform Global
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.

CQ Researcher Online
Offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues with reports on a wide range of topics including health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime and civil liberties.

Google Scholar

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries on inventors, theoreticians, industry leaders, markets, industries and labor.

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Explores the traditions of Ancient Greek, Roman & Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America and South Asia.

ProQuest Central
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
 

The following databases might also be useful depending on your topic:

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Electronic Collections Online
A collection of scholarly journals.

Newspaper Source
Provides full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers and selective fulltext for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Covers the role women have played throughout world history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles.

Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations, abstracts and indexing of the internaional serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

 

Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:


If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Scholarly Journals Articles
What are scholarly journals? Scholarly journals, which may also be peer-reviewed or refereed journals, are academic journals that contain material that is intended for scholars or researchers in the author's field of specialty. Publishers of peer-reviewed or refereed journals follow a process where experts in the field evaluate submitted articles before they are accepted to be published. This ensures that the content is as valid and reliable as possible.

How do I know if a journal is scholarly? Scholarly journals can often be identified by searching our library research databases. Many of those databases, like EBSCOhost and ProQuest, allow you to limit your search results to only those journals that are peer-reviewed or scholarly. Some databases, like ScienceDirect, include only scholarly material.
 

Find Scholarly Journals in Academic Search Elite

If you are in the "Basic Search" mode in Academic Search Elite, Scroll down under "Limit your results" and you will see the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box in the right column.
 

If you are in the "Results List" screen, look in the left column for "Limit to...,"click on the "Show More" link and you will see a "Peer Reviewed" box on the next screen.
 


Find Scholarly Journals in ProQuest Databases

If you are on the main search screen, check the "peer reviewed" box under the search box.
 


If you are on the "Results" page, look in the right column and click on "Peer reviewed" under the "Narrow results by."
 
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


There are several ways to search the catalog with keyword searching being the most basic. A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.



 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Search Tips
  1. Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: trade, religion, human rights, globalization, commerce, transportation, culture.
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "trade and globalization"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "commerce or trade"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "1959 NATO summit"

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

 
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Browsing Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection.  The majority of the International & Globalization books can be found in the following sections:
 
BL Religions
BM Judaism
BP Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy, ect.
BQ Buddhism
BR Christianity
CB History of civilization
D World history (General)
GB Physical geography
GE Environmental sciences
GN Anthropology
GT Manners and customs
HC Economic history and conditions
HD
Industries. Land Use. Labor
HE Transportation and communication
HF Commerce
HN Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
HQ The family. Marriage. Women
HT Communities. Classes. Races
JV Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ International relations
K Law
KB Religious law in general
KZ Law of nations
P Language and Literature
R Medicine
S Agriculture
TD Environmental technology
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Online Resources and Websites
CIRI Human Rights Data Project- The CIRI Human Rights Dataset contains standards-based quantitative information on government respect for 15 internationally recognized human rights for 202 countries, annually from 1981-2011. It is designed for use by scholars and students who seek to test theories about the causes and consequences of human rights violations, as well as policy makers and analysts who seek to estimate the human rights effects of a wide variety of institutional changes and public policies including democratization, economic aid, military aid, structural adjustment, and humanitarian intervention.

Human Development Reports- The Human Development Index (HDI) is a summary measure of average achievement in three key dimensions of human development: having a long and healthy life, being knowledgeable, and having a decent standard of living. The Human Development Report offers country profiles accompanied with data sets as well as guides to understanding the data.

Index of Economic Freedom- The Index of Economic Freedom is a helpful tool for a variety of audiences including: academics, policymakers, journalists, students, teachers, and those in business and finance. The index provides an objective tool for analyzing 186 economies throughout the world. Each country page is a resource for in-depth analysis of a country’s political and economic developments. Historical index data can also provide long-term insights.

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change- This website is devoted to providing the most current scientific knowledge on climate change. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change offers reports, technical papers, supporting materials, figures and tables, and supporting data all backed by scientific studies and analysis and all on the topic of climate change.

LABORSTA- Global statistics on topics such as: employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts, household income and expenditure, international labor migration. The statistics obtained from LABORSTA can be viewed individually by country or cross referenced with other countries.

Unesco Institute for Statistics- UIS is a source for comparable national statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

The World Bank DataBankthe DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

World Health Organization Data and Statistics- The World Health Organization provides data and statistics on global issues such as malnutrition, disease, water quality and much more.

World Trade Organization- The World Trade Organization website offers a variety of information on global trade including in-depth insights on specific trade areas such as textiles and agriculture.