Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Humanities
Getting Started
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference or Literary Reference Center
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, you may want to start with MLA International Bibliography , JSTOR Language & Literature , or Humanities International Complete .
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 


If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Find Journal Articles
The following are the best databases for humanities-related topics:


Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive coverage of the humanities with full-text content from sources around the world.
JSTOR Language & Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian and German.
Literary Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
A literary database that combines information from books, monographs, reference works and journals.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
A classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association.
ProQuest Language & Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
A subset of 4 databases covering literature & language.


Locating Journal Articles

When searching for journal articles in the Sage databases, you will need to determine whether the Sage Libraries has full text access. If full text of a particular article is available, you will see links to the "PDF Full Text" and/or "HTML Full Text." These links will take you to the article's full text. You may also see a "Find Full Text" link. Click on this link to search the Sage Libraries "Journals by Title" portal to determine if there is full text access in another Sage database.

Some databases only provide abstracts so full text is not available. Use the Journals by Title portal on the Libraries website to see if there is full text access in another database.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Finding Historical Book Reviews
Book reviews written at the time a book was published are an excellent source for contextual research.  To find a book review, it is important to know the author’s full name, title of the book, and the year of the book's publication. Remember that the great majority of books never get reviewed at all. Also, reviews do not always appear the same year that the book was published. You may have to check indexes for a year or two following the publication date. Finally, remember that indexes usually cover certain dates. If your book was written in 1925, for example, you will use an index other than one that covers contemporary novels.   In the Sage Colleges Libraries several sources of historical book reviews are available, including:
 
Book Review Digest: 1903-1982 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of fiction and non-fiction. Some full-text links available.
JSTOR Language & Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
This collection spans the literary cultures of many different countries, containing articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian and German. (dates of coverage vary)
Literary Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
A literary database that combines information from books, monographs, reference works and journals. (dates of coverage vary)
America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of historical New York State newspapers from 1730 to 1913.

Proquest Historical Newspapers (dates range but begin as early as 1764):

You may also wish to consult the Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-1989) which is a print index located in the Shea Learning Center Library.
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in both the Troy and Albany libraries.
Edith Wharton reading
Portrait of Edith Wharton, courtesy of the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, D.C.
Subject Specialist
Amy Pass
Information Literacy Librarian
passa@sage.edu
518-244-3106
 
Other Research Guides:
Women's Studies
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian