Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Computer Information Systems & Cybersecurity
Getting Started
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use  or Credo Reference
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, use ProQuest Science & Technology
Find Journal Articles
The best databases for computer information systems and cybersecurity topics are:

Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

ProQuest Science & Technology
A subset of 10 databases covering science & technology

Sage Journal Portal - Computer Science
Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including Computer Science.

Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Scifinder
A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more! Please note: this database requires a special registration.


Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries "Journals by Title" portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would lick on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.

 
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


There are several ways to search the catalog with keyword searching being the most basic. A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Some Suggested Websites
Courses & Tutorials

Codeacademy

Coursera: Computer Systems & Security Courses

Khan Academy Computer Science

TechOnLine

W3 Schools

Cybersecurity

Cyberwar! - Q & A with experts, warnings, and links to readings and security organizations. From the PBS Frontline program.

Educause's Cybersecurity Initiative - The Higher Education Information Security Council (HEISC) stives to improve information security, data protection, and privacy programs in higher education.

National Cyber Security Alliance - the mission of the NCSa is to educate the public in how to use the internet safely and securely at home, work, and school.

Norse: IPViking Live - map of worldwide cyber attaches in real-time from the Norse Corporation.

TED Blog: Cybersecurity - short talks and stories about tech security topics.

US-CERT - a government organization that strives for a safer, stronger Internet for all Americans by rsponding to major incidents, analyzing threats and exchanging critical cybersecurity information with trusted partners.

US Department of Homeland Security: Cybersecurity - contains overviews and resources related to cybersecurity topics.

Data Management

DMPTool - resource for creating a data management plan. It is free, open source, and supports all major funders.

Microsoft Development

MSDN: Miscrosoft Developer Network

News and Blogs

Digital Trends - provides technology news and product reviews of cell phones, desktop PCs, digital camera, e-readers, laptops, tablets, TVs and other digital products. It also includes reviews of apps, buying guides and best deals.

New York Times Technology Section

ReadWrite - one of the most widely read and respected tech news sites in the world.

TechCrunch - a website devoted to breaking technology news and analysis.

Wired - in-depth coverage of current and future trends in technology, and how they are shaping business, entertainment, communications, sciences, politics, etc.

Programming & Programming Languages

CSS Creator - a site for web development, covering CSS, HTML and JavaScript. It also includes a forum and a site check area to validate code.

Python Language - official website of the Python language and includes source code distribution, dinaries, documentation, and conference proceedings.
Subject Specialist
Chris White
Systems Librarian
whitec2@sage.edu
518-244-4521
 
Other Research Guides:
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Search Tips
  1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "computer security AND systems management"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "education OR technology"
  4. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "intranets for organizational innovation"
Truncation
Truncation allows you to search for the root of a word with all possible endings. The asterisk (*) is often the sybmol used for truncation. Use truncation as much as possible to avoid limiting your keywords searches to singular, plural or specific word formats.

Examples:
Use comput* to find the words, compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc.
 

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs availabe on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Professional Organizations
American Society for Information Science and Technology  (ASIS&T) - for over 75 years, ASIS&T has been leading the search for enw and better theories, techniques, and technologies to improve access to information.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) - the world's largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession.

Association for Information Systems (AIS) - a professional organization whose purpose is to serve as the premier global organization for academicians specializing in Information Systems.

IEEE Computer Society - the world's leading membership organization dedicated to computer science and technology.

Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) - an international non-profit organization of information security professionals and practitioners. It provides education forums, publications, peer interaction.

International Information Systems Secuirty Certification Consortium (ISC)2 - international organization dedicated to the certification and training of information systems security professionasl and practitioners.

Society for Information Management (SIM) - brings together IT leaders to share, network, and give back to their communities through the collaboration of local chapters.