Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Political Science
U.S. Capitol Building and Grounds. 10 March 2014. Photo by Architect of the Capitol.
Getting Started
1. To find BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference.
2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS held by Sage Libraries, use the Libraries Catalog.
3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite, PAIS International or ProQuest Central.
Find Background Information
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Explores the traditions of Ancient Greek, Roman & Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America and South Asia.
Find Journal Articles

Databases for Policial Science reaseach

Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

CQ Researcher Online Restricted Resource
Offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues with reports on a wide range of topics including health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime and civil liberties.

Congress.gov Unrestricted Resource
The official source for federal legislative information maintained by the Library of Congress.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Restricted Resource
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information resources compiled specifically for the news, business, legal and medical research needs of academic institutions.

GPO Monthly Catalog Restricted Resource
U.S. government publications

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Covers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Unrestricted Resource
A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

PAIS International Restricted Resource
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

Sage Journal Portal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to thousands of online journals, magazines and newspapers covering a broad range of disciplines.

WestlawNext Restricted Resource
A legal database that includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Citations, abstracts and indexing of the internaional serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.


Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 
 
If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book (see example below).
 


Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Find Newspaper Sources
The Sage Libraries has access to hundreds of newspapers through its databases. Try one of these databases when searching for political news stories.

Black Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of significant Black newspapers from the United States.

Custom Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Newspapers from around the globe plus additional sources of selected news and business coverage.

Gannett Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
More than 85 Gannett newspapers , including six NY newspapers: The Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).

Infotrac Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of more than 1,000 newspapers.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information resources compiled specifically for the news, business, legal and medical research needs of academic institutions.

New York Times Restricted Resource Some full text available
Local, regional, national and international news.

National Newspapers Restricted Resource
Access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

New York State Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Newspapers published in New York State including the New York times and the New York Post.

Sage Journal Portal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to thousands of online journals, magazines and newspapers covering a broad range of disciplines.

Schenectady Daily Gazette Restricted Resource Some full text available
Locally owned voice of the Capital Region.

Troy Record Unrestricted Resource openURL
Serving Troy, NY and its surrounding communities.

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Local and regional news.
Subject Specialist
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Citing Resources
The following are great online resources for citations:
 
The Libraries also has print copies of several style manuals at the Information Desk.
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous political websites and blogs availabe on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Political Science Websites
Here's a short list of useful websites. It is only a small sample and is by no means exclusive.

New York

New York State Assembly Unrestricted Resource
The official website of the New York State Assembly.

New York State Data Center Unrestricted Resource
A valuable source for economic and demographic information in New York State.

NY.gov Unrestricted Resource
The official portal to the New York State government.
 

United States

FactCheck.org Unrestricted Resource
A nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics.

Federal Election Commission Unrestricted Resource
The official website of the Federal Election Commission.

Frontline (PBS) Unrestricted Resource
Broadcast documentaries covering the scope and complexity of the human experience both in the United States and other parts of the world. Many of the documentaries cover tough, controversial issues or complex stories.

Stateline Unrestricted Resource
An editorially independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit news service of the Pew Charitable Trusts that provides daily reporting and analysis on trends in state policy.

The National Security Archive Unrestricted Resource
An independent, nongovernmental nonprofit research institute that provides public access to government information including declassified U.S. documents.

United States Census Bureau Unrestricted Resource
The official website of the U.S. Census Bureau.

USA.gov Unrestricted Resource
The official portal to websites of the U.S. government.
 

International

Europa Unrestricted Resource
The official website of the European Union run by the Communication department of the European Commission.

International Affairs Resources Page Unrestricted Resource
A Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality sources in internaional affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies and global education.

Organization of the American States Unrestricted Resource
The official website of the Organization of American States, the world's oldest regional organization.

United Nations Unrestricted Resource
The official website of the United Nations.
Browsing Political Science Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection.
 
J

General legislative and executive papers

JA

Political science (general)

JC Political theory
JF Political institutions and public administration
JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America)
JN Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS Local government
JV Colonies and colonization, emigration and immigration, international migration
JZ International Relations

In the Shea Learning Center (Troy Library), the Political Science books can be found on the second floor. In the SCA Learning Center (Albany Library), they can be found in the basement.
Public Opinion Resources
Need public opinion research? Try one of these sources:

Gallup.com Unrestricted Resource
Provides data-driven news based on U.S. and world polls, daily tracking and public opinion research.

Pew Research Center Unrestricted Resource
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

PollingReport.com Unrestricted Resource
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.

Roper Center: Public Opinion Archives Unrestricted Resource
One of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.

Quinnipiac University Poll Unrestricted Resource
Regularly surveys residents in Colorado, Connecticut, Flordia, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and nationwide about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern.

Siena New York Poll Unrestricted Resource
Regional, statewide, and national surveys on business, economic, political, voter, social, academic and historical issues. The surveys include both expert and public opinion polls.