Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Occupational Therapy

Photo via the American Occupational Therapy Association website.
Getting Started
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference , Gale Virtual Reference Library , or Access Science.
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite or ProQuest Central .
Find Journal Articles

The following databases are the most relevant for Occupational Therapy topics:

ABI/Inform Global Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.

Journals@OVID Restricted Resource Some full text available
A selection of high quality medical and scientific journals from top publishers worldwide.

Nursing & Allied Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.

Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

The following databases might also be useful depending on your topic:


Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Access Science Restricted Resource
McGraw Hill's Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

Article First Restricted Resource
OCLC index of articles from contents pages of journals.

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Restricted Resource
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Electronic Journal Service (EJS) Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary gateway to a collection of subscribed e-journals.

Google Scholar

Physical Education Index Restricted Resource
A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more.

Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports.

PubMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology Restricted Resource
A multi-volume reference in the field of experimental psychology.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Restricted Resource
A source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types - academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
 

Locating Journal Articles
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.

Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


There are several ways to search the catalog with keyword searching the most basic. A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.


eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these eBooks collections separately.

Ebook Collection
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.
Ebook Central
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.

eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Find Scholarly Journals Articles
What are scholarly journals? Scholarly journals, which may also be peer-reviewed or refereed journals, are academic journals that contain material that is intended for scholars or researchers in the author's field of specialty. Publishers of peer-reviewed or refereed journals follow a process where experts in the field evaluate submitted articles before they are accepted to be published. This ensures that the content is as valid and reliable as possible.

How do I know if a journal is scholarly? Scholarly journals can often be identified by searching our library research databases. Many of those databases, like EBSCOhost and ProQuest, allow you to limit your search results to only those journals that are peer-reviewed or scholarly. Some databases, like ScienceDirect, include only scholarly material.
 

Find Scholarly Journals in Academic Search Elite

If you are in the "Basic Search" mode in Academic Search Elite, Scroll down under "Limit your results" and you will see the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box in the right column.
 

If you are in the "Results List" screen, look in the left column for "Limit to...,"click on the "Show More" link and you will see a "Peer Reviewed" box on the next screen.
 


Find Scholarly Journals in ProQuest Databases

If you are on the main search screen, check the "peer reviewed" box under the search box.
 


If you are on the "Results" page, look in the right column and click on "Peer reviewed" under the "Narrow results by."
 
Subject Specialist
 
Terry Wasielewski
Technical Services Librarian
wasiet@sage.edu
518-244-2435
 
Other Research Guides:
Creative Arts in Therapy
Fine Arts
Graphic Design
Interior Design
Nutrition
Photography
Physical Therapy
 
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Search Tips
  1. Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: motor skills, fixation, self-regulation, extention.
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "occupational therapy and motor skills"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "motor skills or self-regulation"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "spatial awareness"

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

 
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Browsing Occupational Therapy Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Occupational Therapy books can be found in the following sections:
 
RC581-951 Specialities of internal medicine
RC952-1245 Special situations and conditions
RD792 – RD811 Orthopedic surgery, physical rehabilitation
RM214-258 Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks
RM259 Vitamin therapy
RM695-893 Physical medicine. Physical therapy. Including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, hydrotherapy, phototherapy, radiotherapy, thermotherapy, electrotherapy
RM930-931 Rehabilitation therapy
RM950 Rehabilitation technology
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Useful Websites

Organizational Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality- information for healthcare professionals, consumers, and policymakers. The site contains grant listings, research tools, programs, and statistics.

The American Occupational Therapy Foundation- this website shares occupational therapy resources, grants and scholarships, and recent news in the occupational therapy field.

National Rehabilitation Information Center- the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). The organization catalogs, and disseminates articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by (NIDRR).
 

Educational / Interactive Resources

AbleData - provides information about assistive technology products and rehabilitation equipment.

Evidence-Based Occupational Therapy - the Evidence-Based Occupational Therapy Web-portal has been designed to provide strategies, knowledge, and resources to aid occupational therapists in finding out about and using evidence during their procedures.

MedLine Plus Medical Dictionary - dictionary for medical terms.

The New England Journal of Medicine Clinical Videos - videos outlining clinical procedures.

OTPlan - Occupational Therapy Plan is an activity idea resource for pediatric occupational therapy activities. Match skills you want to work on, with materials you have, to a detailed occupational therapy treatment activity.

Pediatric Occupational Therapy  Activities, Ideas and Tips - comprehensive listing of activities for children using occupational therapy.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) - PEDro is a free database of over 29,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.


Statistical Resources

Centers for Disease Control Data and Statistics - this site offers data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized and analyzed, with dynamically calculated statistics, charts and maps.

Cornell University's Disability Statistics - a comprehensive data set of disablity statistics in the United States.

County Health Rankings - county specific data in fields such as: health behavior, clinical care statistics, social and economic factors, and physical environment.

Gallup-Healthways Well-Being Index - the Gallup-Healthways Well-Being Index is one of the most proven and relied upon statisitical measurements well-being in the world. This index provides global statistics as well as inclusive state-by-state statistics for the United States.

Advocacy

Advocates for Children of New York – A specific advocacy group for New York, the policies and initiatives page is very useful to see advocacy topics and agendas.

New York State Department of Health Early Intervention Program – Contains all types of information on early intervention in New York State including guidelines, statistics, webinars, laws, and training.

New York State Library Digital Collections – Digitized state documents from New York State’s Bureau of Early Intervention. Includes annual reports, publication, and future plans of the bureau.