Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Mathematics

Image from the Mathematical Association of America's Website
 
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference or Gale Virtual Reference Library .
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite or ProQuest Central .
Find Journal Articles

These databases contain the most relevant materials for Mathematics topics.


Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
 

The following set of databases might also be useful depending on your topic:


General OneFile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A general periodical database containing thousands of periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Restricted Resource
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

 

Locating Journal Articles


Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


There are several ways to search the catalog with keyword searching the most basic. A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.

eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these eBooks collections separately. eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Search Tips
  1. Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: logic, probability, permutation.
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "irrational number and integers"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "parallelogram or quadrilateral"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "Class field theory"

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

 
Citing Sources
General Online Guides (all of these guides can help you cite Mathematics assignments)

Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful for Mathematics. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.
   

Click on thumbnail for larger image
Useful Websites
General Resources  

ZMATH Online Database- The ZBMATH Database contains more than 3 million entries drawn from about 3500 journals and 1100 serials from 1826 to present. This database is edited by the European Mathematical Society, FIZ Karlsruhe, and Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften.
 
Mathematics Commons- Contains over 2,700 full-text articles submitted by
scholars at 96 institutions.

MacTutor History of Mathematics- This site contains useful information on historical perspectives of Mathematics.

Wolfram Mathworld- Freely available mathematical information for both the mathematical and educational communities. Contains index terms, 3-d models, journal articles, and downloadable content.

PARI/GP- This site is a widely used computer algebra system designed for fast computations in number theory (factorizations, algebraic number theory, elliptic curves...), but also contains a large number of other useful functions to compute with mathematical entities such as matrices, polynomials, power series, algebraic numbers etc., and a lot of transcendental functions.

MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

The Math Forum at Drexel- The Math Forum is a leading center for mathematics and mathematics education on the Internet. Operating under the Drexel University School of Education, our mission is to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.
 
Browsing Mathematics Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Mathematics books can be found in the following sections:
 
 
QA1-939 Mathematics
QA1-43 General
QA47-59 Tables
QA71-90 Instruments and machines
QA75-76.95 Calculating machines
QA75.5-76.95 Electronic computers. Computer science
QA101-(145) Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic
QA150-272.5 Algebra
QA273-280 Probabilities. Mathematical statistics.
QA299.6-433 Analysis
QA440-699 Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology
QA801-939 Analytic mechanics