Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Interior Design
interior design model
Image from Sage College's Interior Design program website
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference or Gale Virtual Reference Library .
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite or ProQuest, the Arts
Find Journal Articles

The following databases are the most relevant for Interior Design topics:


Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Art Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals.

Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource
Business reference information, including company fundamentals and histories, investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles and market share data.

ProQuest, the Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
A subset of ProQuest databases covering the arts.

 

The following databases might also be useful depending on your topic:


Art Journals Restricted Resource
Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including art, architecture & applied arts.

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
A digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools. ARTstor contains approx. 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods.

Google Art Project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Google has partinered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world's cultural treasures online.

My Modern Met Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection of digital images.                                                                                                                                                                 

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.


Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


There are several ways to search the catalog with keyword searching the most basic. A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.

eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these eBooks collections separately. eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
 
Terry Wasielewski
Technical Services Librarian
wasiet@sage.edu
518-244-2435
 
Other Research Guides:
Creative Arts in Therapy
Fine Arts
Graphic Design
Nutrition
Occupational Therapy  
Photography
Physical Therapy
 
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Search Tips
  1. Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: furniture, focal points, scale, symmetry.
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "asymmetrical balance and woodwork"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "church decoration or retail design"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "radial symmetry"

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

 
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful for Interior Design. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.
   

Click on thumbnail for larger image
Useful Websites
General Sites

Interiordesign.net- A site that offers interior design projects, events, and news.

Interior Design Labor Statistics- Occupational statistics for interior designers.

Interiors & Sources- A site that displays resources for interior designers, current trends, recent publications, and product information for interior designers.

ASID Student Design Competition- Find details for the student design competition and also view winning designs from previous years.

Interior Design Jobs

IIDA Jobs- Use this resource to search for jobs and to stay current with trends in hiring.

ASID Career Center- This career center offers professional development resources, job postings, and tips for recent graduates.

Interior Design Blogs

Design Milk- This blog displays posts focused on many aspects of design including Interior Design.

Dwell- Dwell is a blog that displays posts on room styles, home designs, building materials, and cultural design topics.

Design*Sponge- Design*Sponge is a design blog run by Brooklyn-based writer, Grace Bonney that is updated 6-8 times/day and focuses on modern design ideas.

Apartment Therapy- This blog offers informational posts on interior design, DIY projects, and interesting photos of recent projects completed by interior designers.
Citing Sources
General Online Guides (all of these guides can help you cite interior design assignments)

Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Browsing Interior Design Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Interior Design books can be found in the following sections:
 
N Visual Arts
NA1-9428 Architecture
NA2695-2793 Architectural drawing and design
NA1700-7884 Domestic architecture. Houses. Dwellings
NA9000-9428 Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying
NB1160-1195 Design and technique
NC1-1940 Drawing. Design. Illustration
NC845-915 Graphic art materials
NC950-(996) Illustrtation
NK1160-1590 Decoration and ornament. Design
NK1700-2195 Interior decoration. House decoration
NK1700-2138 General. History, ect. Including special rooms
NK2140-2180 Decorative painting
NK2190-2192 Church decoration
NK2200-2750 Furniture
NK2775-2898 Rugs and carpets
NK2975-3049 Tapestries
NK3175-3296.3 Upholstery. Drapery
NK3375-3496.3 Wallpapers
NK3600-(9990) Other artes and art industries
NK9600-9955 Woodwork