Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
History

Baxter, Gene. "Moving Books into the James Wheelock Clark Library."  Photograph. 1953. The Sage Colleges Archives & Special Collection, bit.ly/I4pTcO.
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL or MAGAZINE ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite, ProQuest Central, and U.S. History Collection.
Find Background Information
Almanacs, dictionaries and encyclopedias are often a good starting point in the research process as they provide background information on a topic. They can also be used to identify key people, events and dates that can used to find additional information on a topic. Try one of these online reference sources when searching for background information:

Columbia Gazetteer of the World Restricted Resource Some full text available
The renowned geographic encyclopedia.

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries on inventors, theoreticians, industry leaders, markets, industries and labor.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers the role women have played throughout world history, with over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles.

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Explores the traditions of Ancient Greek, Roman & Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America and South Asia.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 

If you find a book in the catalog that it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book. Click here for a short tutorial explaining how to place a hold on an item.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Find Journal Articles
The following are the best databases for history topics:

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Making of America Restricted Resource Some full text available
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

U.S. History Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

 

Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would lick on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Primary Sources
Some History assignments require the use of primary sources. Primary source is a term used to describe source material that is closest to the person, information, period, or idea being studied and includes diaries, letters, journals, newspapers, interviews, etc. The Sage Libraries has access to many primary soruces through its print collection, databases and other online resources.
 

Books

Within the Sage Libraries print collection, there are published primary source materials like diaries, personal narratives, and correspondence. To find these items in the Libraries catalog, it is best to create a search string using a subject heading that designates primary source and keywords for your topic.
 

EXAMPLES
su:"personal narratives" and World War II
su:diaries and Nursing
su:correspondence and Civil War


Commonly Used Subject Headings for Primary Sources
su:"personal narratives"
su:diaries
su:correspondence
su:sources
su:interviews
su:"court records"
 

Sage Libraries Databases

Making of America Restricted Resource Some full text available
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Unrestricted Resource
A digital collection of the Library of Congress that provides access to America's historic newspapers from 1836 to 1922.

Historical Newspapers: Boston Globe (1872-1982) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1982.

Historical Newspapers: Hartford Courant (1764-1988) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the Hartford Courant from 1764 to 1988.

Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune (1841-1922) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the New York Tribune from 1841 to 1922.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2010) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2010. Also contains the Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993), which provides search capability using subject terms and topics.

Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 1996.
 

Online Sources

Many museums, libraries and archives have digitized their collections and make them available online. The following is a sample of available digitized collections and is by no means exclusive.
 

RESEARCH TIP: Always carefully evalulate an online source before using it.


American Memory Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Library of Congress' American Memory digital collection provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music that document the American experience.

The Avalon Project Unrestricted Resource
The Avalon Project provides transcriptions of important documents in law, history and diplomacy dating back to 4000 bce.

British History Online Unrestricted Resource
Contains primary and secondary sources for the history of the British Isles. A diverse range of sources such as maps, journals, letters, diaries, etc. are available.

Digital Public Library of America Unrestricted Resource openURL
A portal that brings together the digital collections of libraries, archives and museum in order to provide open and coherent access.

Documenting the American South Unrestricted Resource
Provides access to texts, images and audio files related to southern history, literature and culture. DocSouth has sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews and song.

Euro Docs Unrestricted Resource
Selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations of documents from European countries. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

Founders Online Unrestricted Resource
Founders Online provides access to the hisotrical documents of the Founders of the United States of America. Records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison are available on the site.

Institute for Visual History and Education Unrestricted Resource
A collection over 50,000 audio-visual interviews with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides.

National Archives Online Public Access Catalog Unrestricted Resource openURL
The online public portal to the records of the National Archives.

New York State Archives Digital Collections Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The digital collections including images, audio and video of the New York State Archives.

New York Heritage Digital Collections Unrestricted Resource
A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State.

New York State Library Digital Online Collections Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains images
A collection of New York State materials with a large array of 18th and 19th century historical items from many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history. While books make up the core collection, other primary source materials include letters, diaries, rare manuscripts, historic photographs, illustrations, maps, broadsides, drawings and music scores.

Veterans History Project Unrestricted Resource openURL Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A project of the American Folklife Center that collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans.
Subject Specialist
  Kelly Grant
Archivist
grantk3@sage.edu
518-244-2471
 
Other Research Guides:
Ask a Librarian

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Browsing History Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. While history books can be found throughout the Libraries, the majority of history books can be found in the following sections:
 
D General History, Historiography
DA
Great Britain, Ireland
DB
Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic
DC
France
DD
Germany
DE
Greco-Roman World
DF
Greece
DG
Italy
DJ
Netherlands
DJK
Eastern Europe
DK
Russia
DL
Scandinavia
DP
Spain, Portugal
DQ
Switerland
DR
Balkans
DS
Asia
DU
Oceana
E
United States
F
United States, Canada, Latin America

In the Shea Learning Center (Troy Campus), these sections are located on the third floor. In the SCA Learning Center, they can be found in the basement.
eBooks
All ebooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately.

Ebook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of over 10,000 eBooks covering a wide range of disciplines.

Ebook Central Restricted Resource
A collection of over 70,000 eBooks covering a broad range of subjects.

HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world
Keyword Search Tips
 
  1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "Germany AND World War II"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "Bubonic plague OR Black Death"
  4. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "the Gilded Age"

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

 
Citing Sources
History papers generally use the Chicago Manual of Style for document formatting and citation. The Albany and Troy Libraries have copies of the Chicago Manual at the Information Desks as well as access to the electronic version.
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous historical websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Historical Images Online
Historical images are great primary sources. There are many image database available on the web and through Sage's databases.

ARTstor
A digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools. ARTstor contains approx. 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods.

Camio (art images)
Catalog of art images online. About 95,000 art images - photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture.

Google Art Project
Google has partinered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world's cultural treasures online.

New York Heritage Digital Collections
A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State.

NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collection including manuscripts, maps, posters, prints and photographs.

The SIRIS Image Gallery
The SIRIS Image Gallery contains a sampling of the visual records that are part of the Collections Search Center. The image Gallery includes over 530,000 images from several archival repositories and museums at the Smithsonian.