Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Health Services Administration
Getting Started
1.  Search for peer-reviewed ARTICLES in Business Source Premier

2.  Search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage Colleges, use the Libraries Catalog

3.  Since this area composes of both health sciences and management, consider searching for ARTICLES in these related subject databases: CINAHL and ProQuest Business

4.  For a broader approach, consider searching in a broad general database that covers many full-text subject areas: ProQuest Central
Databases in Health and Business

BUSINESS:

ABI/Inform Dateline
Business, Economics: local and regional business publications

ABI/Inform Global
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry
Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals

Banking Information Source
Search essential banking industry publications providing information about the finanical services industry, banking, and industry trends.

Business Insights: Essentials
Business reference information, including company fundamentals and histories, investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles and market share data.

Business Review (Albany)
Full-text access to local business news and resources, including the Book of Lists.

Business Source Premier
Country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

Hoover's Company Records
Corporate data, industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

ProQuest Business
A subset of Proquest databases covering business and related subjects.

Regional Business News
Coverage for regional business publications.

Sage Journal Portal - Business & Economics
Access to thousands of online journals covering a broad range of disciplines including Business & Economics.

Snapshot Series
International market research overviews.

Value Line
Financial data and analysis from Value Line's publications, covering stocks, mutual funds, options, convertible securities, and more.

WestlawNext
A legal database that includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.

 

GENERAL:

Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Academic Search Elite
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

LexisNexis Academic
Information resources compiled specifically for the news, business, legal and medical research needs of academic institutions.

ProQuest Central
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

 

HEALTH:

CINAHL
Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.

Nursing & Allied Health
Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.

ProQuest Health & Medicine
A subset of 11 proquest databases covering the health sciences.

ProQuest Medical Library
Comprehensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature.

PubMed
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Science Direct
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

 

REFERENCE:

Credo Reference
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference books in a database format. The sources include multi-volume encyclopedias in history, social sciences and more.

Health Reference Center Academic
Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.
Find Journal Articles

Locating Journal Articles

Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would lick on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).

 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below).
 

If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book. Click here for a short tutorial explaining how to place a hold on an item.
 

eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately. eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
Regina Vertone
Access Services Librarian
vertor@sage.edu
518-292-1784
  Other Subject Guides:
Accounting
Business Administration
Organizational Management
 
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Citing Sources
  
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Keyword Search Tips
  1. Break down your search into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  2. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "nursing" and "administration"
  3. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "business model OR concept"
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.

 
Click on thumbnail for larger image
Professional Associations
American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management 
http://www.aaham.org/

American Hospital Association (AHA)
http://www.aha.org/

Association for Healthcare Administrative Professionals
http://www.ahcap.org/

Health Care Administrators Association  (HCAA)
http://www.hcaa.org/