Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Forensic Science

Image from the Sage College Forensic Science Program Website
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference , Gale Virtual Reference Library , or Access Science .
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite , ProQuest Central , or Science Direct .
Find Journal Articles

These databases contain the most relevant materials for Forensic Science topics.


Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information resources compiled specifically for the news, business, legal and medical research needs of academic institutions.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Scifinder Restricted Resource
A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science and more! Please note: this database requires a special registration.
 

The following set of databases might also be useful depending on your topic:


Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.



Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Restricted Resource
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Medline Restricted Resource Some full text available
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and more.

PubMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

 

Locating Journal Articles


Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


There are several ways to search the catalog with keyword searching the most basic. A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.

eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these eBooks collections separately. eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device.

See here for downloading instructions.

 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
Lisa Brainard
Director
brainl@sage.edu
518-244-2430
 
Other Subject Guides:
Biology
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Environmental Studies
Nursing
Psychology
 
Ask a Librarian

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Keyword Search Tips
  1. Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: contact wound, pattern evidence, contusion.
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "puncture wound and toxicology"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "abrasion or laceration"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "Short Tandem Repeats"

For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:

 
Citing Sources
General Online Guides (all of these guides can help you cite Forensic Science assignments)

Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful for Forensic Science. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.
   

Click on thumbnail for larger image
Useful Websites
General Resources  

Bureau of Justice Statistics- The Bureau of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government

National Criminal Justice Reference Service- The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Forensic Science: Open Directory Project- Guide for free web resources and websites on topics such as: Computer Forensics; DNA; Document Examination; Fingerprints; Firearms; Forensic Anthropology; Forensic Entomology; Forensic Meteorology; Forensic Photography; and Forensic Psychology.

JUSTNET: Forensic Science- This is the official website of the National Law Enforcement and Corrections Technology Center. The NLECTC System is the conduit between researchers and criminal justice professionals in the field for technology issues.

Forensic Science Resources on the Internet- This site contains an incredibly thorough compilation of resources that focus on Forensic Science. The site is organized by topic as well as by type of resource.

The following sites contain job postings, internship opportunities, scholarship information, and career advice.
Browsing Forensic Science Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Forensic science books can be found in the following sections:
 
HV6201-6249 Criminal classes
HV6250-6250.4 Victims of crimes. Victimology
HV6251-6773.55 Crimes and offenses
HV073-8079.35 Investigation of crimes. Examination and identification of criminals.
QD1-999 Chemistry
QD71-142 Analytical chemistry
QD146-197 Inorganic Chemistry
QD241-441 Organic chemistry
QD415-436 Biochemistry
RA1001-1171 Forensic medicine. Medical jurisprudence. Legal medicine
RA1190-1270 Toxicology. Poisons
RB24-33 Pathological anatomy and histology
RB37-56.5 Clinical pathology. Laboratory technique
RB57 Post-mortem examination
RB127-150 Manifestations of disease
RB151-214 Theories of disease. Etiology. Pathogenesis
RC31-1245 Internal medicine