Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Forensic Mental Health
Research Tips and Tools
1. Organize

2. Discover
3. Access
  • Your Sage username and password work for both remote access and for Interlibrary Loan.
  • Faulty Links -- When article link fails, search the journal; if a  journal link fails, search the database. And remember Interlibrary Loan!!!!!!! If you cannot access an article, use the Interlibrary Loan link and we will find it. 
  • Interlibrary Loan Links are everywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Need a book quickly? Not on the shelf?  Use the Capital District Libraries Catalog and the DAP program. With a DAP card, obtained at the Sage Libraries desk, you can check out books from practically all Capital District libraries, college and public.


4. Integrate
  • Refworks Write-N-Cite  Plugin -- See tools on the Refworks page. This tool allows you create in-text citations and bibliographies as you write.

 
Books and Media
WorldCat: Best place to start for research. Search libraries across the globle. Make use of Interlibrary Loan link.

                    
 
Capital District Library Catalog: Need a book today? With a DAP card obtained at Sage Libraires desk, check out  book form Capital District Libraries.
 
Sage Libraries' Catalog: Search Sage Libraries' holdings for books, ebooks and media.
                          



 
Magazine and Newspaper Articles

The QuickSearch box on the library home page is the best way to search for magazine and newspaper articles. You can also search specific newspapers like the New York Times. For newspaper databases, see the newspaper database page

On the QuickSearch results page, make use of the Content Filter to specify magazine and/or newspaper articles.
                                  
Research Articles -- Google Scholar
Best database for boundary spanning disciplines.


Open Google Scholar from the Sage Libraries page to get full-text and Interlibrary loan links in your results.

"Cited By" Feature allows you follow research trails.


 

Full Text links provided to Sage Libraries' database articles and Public Domain articles.


 
"More Link" opens Interlibrary Request Form

Resarch Articles -- Legal and Social Sciences

LexisNexis Academic
Information resources compiled specifically for the news, business, legal and medical research needs of academic institutions.


National Criminal Justice Reference Service
A federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Explores the traditions of Ancient Greek, Roman & Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America and South Asia.

PsycINFO
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. 

 

ProQuest Criminal Justice
ProQuest Criminal Justice a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other relevant material. 


Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.


Thomas
Library of Congress portal to legislative activity of Congress.

WestlawNext
A legal database that includes federal and state jurisdictions, courts, legislation, law reviews and many periodicals and newspapers. Searchable by legal citation or case number.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations, abstracts and indexing of the internaional serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

 

Locating Journal Articles


Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Social Science and Legal Statistics
The following is a recommended list of statistical sources. Please note, this list is a sample of available resources and is by no means exclusive.

Bureau of Justice Statistics - BJS maintain statistics in the areas of law enforcement, prosecution, courts and sentencing, corrections (including capital punishment), and expenditure and employment.

Criminal Justice Statistics. New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services - New York State criminal justice statistics and also has a Directory of NYS Criminal Justice Agencies.

Federal Bureau of Investigation, Crime Statistics - statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining national and local trends in crime.

Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center - a database containing information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about the many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

United Nations: Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice - data on reported crimes and the operations of international criminal justice systems.

U.S. Census Bureau - current and historical U.S. demographic data. Links to federal, state and international statistical resources as well.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chris White

Chris White
Systems Librarian
Tel: 518 -244-4521

Ask A Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian