Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    SageMail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Education

Image courtesy of woodleywonderworks
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference
  2. To search for BOOKS, eBOOKS, and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL ARTICLES, you may want to begin by searching ERIC , or a multi-disciplinary database such as Academic Search Elite or ProQuest Central . See below for a more comprehensive list of databases.
Find Journal Articles
Databases for Education Research:
ERIC Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Education Resource Information Center, contains more 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Restricted Resource
Information and reviews of English language standardized testing covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, as well as psychology and related areas.
Physical Education Index Restricted Resource
A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more.
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Restricted Resource
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
A source of full-text scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by APA and allied organizations.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.
Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
SPORTSDiscus Unrestricted Resource
Premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content for essential journals in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.

Academic Onefile Unrestricted Resource a multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.
Business Source Premier Unrestricted Resource Full-text coverage in all disciplines of business including educational leadership and administration.

 

Locating Journal Articles

When searching for journal articles in the Sage databases, you will need to determine whether the Sage Libraries has full text access. If full text of a particular article is available, you will see links to the "PDF Full Text" and/or "HTML Full Text." These links will take you to the article's full text. You may also see a "Find Full Text" link. Click on this link to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal to determine if there is full text access in another Sage database.

Some databases only provide abstracts so full text is not available. Use the Journals by Title portal on the Libraries website to see if there is full text access in another database.

If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:


A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.




If the book you found is an ebook, click the Online Resource link for access:

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Subject Specialist
Jen Anderson
Electronic Resources Librarian
anderj6@sage.edu
518-292-1701
Ask a Librarian
 

In person:

Information Desk Hours

By phone:

(518) 244-2431

By email:

libref@sage.edu

By online chat:

Ask Us 24/7

Schedule an appointment

with a Research Librarian

Citing Sources

General Online Guides

Purdue Online Writing Lab

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
 

Citation Management Software

Citation management software is designed to help you store, organize, and cite your research. Most of the available citation management tools will help you store and organize your sources in one place, share sources with other researchers, read and annotate PDFs, insert formatted citations and bibliographies into word processing software.

RefWorks
All Sage students, faculty, and staff have access to RefWorks citation manager, free of charge through the Sage Library. Click here to set up a free account with your sage.edu email address: 
http://library4.sage.edu/control/login.php

Quick links to other popular citation managers:
Other Education Resources
Education in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator by introducing terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts.
Ebook Central Education Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
More than 3,600 ebooks dealing with topics in education.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
An online reference library containing dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, books of quotations and atlases. Credo Reference also offers a range of subject-specific reference books.
Psychotherapy.net Restricted Resource
Streaming video collection featuring demonstrations of psychotherapy and counseling sessions, covering a wide range of modalities, populations and approaches.
Elementary Databases
eLibrary Elementary
Provides digital content, which is searchable based on reading level, designed to support K-9 research and study. Users can access reading level-aligned articles from more than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and audio/video titles.

Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more