Ask A Librarian    SageCloud    Moodle    Gmail    SagePortal    Sage.edu
Creative Arts in Therapy
Getting Started
 
  1. To search for BACKGROUND information, use Credo Reference or Gale Virtual Reference Library .
  2. To search for BOOKS and DVDS owned by Sage, use the Libraries Catalog.
  3. To search for JOURNAL, MAGAZINE or NEWSPAPER ARTICLES, use Academic Search Elite or ProQuest Central .
Find Journal Articles

The following databases are the most relevant for Creative Arts in Therapy topics:

 
Image via the arttherapyblog.com
art therapy artworkAcademic Search Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for more than 2,100 journals, including more than 1,700 peer-reviewed titles. It covers a wide variety of topics including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, history, and ethnic studies.

Art Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals.

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive research database covering nearly every academic discipline.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines.  

PubMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
The search service for the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of scholarly journals covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.
 

The following databases might also be useful depending on your topic:

                                                                                                                                                                  
Academic Onefile Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database containing thousands of journals and reference sources.

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts Restricted Resource
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.                                                                                                                      
                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
A digital library of art images, associated information, and software tools. ARTstor contains approx. 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods.

Article First Restricted Resource
OCLC index of articles from contents pages of journals.

Camio (art images) Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Catalog of art images online. About 95,000 art images - photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Restricted Resource
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Electronic Journal Service (EJS) Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary gateway to a collection of subscribed e-journals.

Health Reference Center Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains nursing and allied health journals, other medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing and allied health and many other medical disciplines.

Nursing & Allied Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.

OT Search Restricted Resource
A bibliographic index compiled by the American Occupational Therapy Foundation (AORF) and the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA), covering the literature of occupational therapy and related subjects. Please note: this database does not provide full text access to indexed resources.

Physical Education Index Restricted Resource
A wide variety of content including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance and more.

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
A source of full-text scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by APA and allied organizations.

PsycBooks Restricted Resource
A database of book chapters from books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.

Psychiatry Online Restricted Resource
An online collection of key resources for mental health professionals. Includes DSM-V.

Social Services Abstracts Restricted Resource
Bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, community development.

Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology Restricted Resource
A multi-volume reference in the field of experimental psychology.
Locating Journal Articles
Many of these databases, provide full text coverage. You will often see links that you can click on to connect directly to an article. Look for "PDF Full Text," "HTML Full Text" or "Linked Full Text" somewhere on the page. Examples are below:



If you see this link,  click on it to search the Sage Libraries Journals by Title portal. This will help you determine if there is full text access in another Sage database. You will have to click on the word "Article" that matches the date of your article. For example, if your article was within the date range below, you would click on the first word in blue, "Article," to connect to the article that you wanted.


If full text access is NOT available through the Sage databases, you may request the journal article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you have a citation for a specific journal or newspaper article, click here for instructions to learn how to locate the article using the "Journals A-Z" portal.
Find Books

Search the Sage Libraries Catalog for books, eBooks and DVDs:

A keyword search is the default search option in the Libraries catalog. Use the catalog's "Advanced Search" to search by author, title, call number, ISBN number or subject. You may also limit your search to a specific library (Albany or Troy).
 

RESEARCH TIP: Use a thesaurus to find synonyms to expand your keyword searches.


To find the book on the shelf, you will need to know the library (Albany or Troy), shelving location (Main, New Books, etc.) and call number. This information can be found on the item record (see example below). If you find a book in the catalog but it is on the opposite campus, storage or otherwise inaccesible, use the "Place Hold" function to request the book.
 


eBooks

All eBooks owned by Sage can be found by searching the Libraries' catalog. You may also search these collections separately. eBooks may be downloaded to an eReader device. See here for downloading instructions.
 

Not finding what you need?

Try searching WorldCat, a catalog of books, media and journals in libraries around the world. You can use Sage's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) to borrow books from other libraries.
 
Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
Keyword Search Tips
  1. Consider adding one of these terms to your search terms: dance therapy, artistic process, poetry therapy.
  2. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms for those concepts.
  3. Use "AND" to combine terms in your search, i.e. "dance therapy and behavioral disorders"
  4. Use "OR" to expand your results, i.e. "art therapy or music therapy"
  5. Use QUOTATION MARKS to delineate a group of words as a phrase, i.e. "expressive art"
For more search tips, see one of these tutorials:
Evaluating Websites
There are numerous websites and blogs available on the internet but some may not be accurate, creditable or useful for Creative Arts in Therapy. Therefore, you should always carefully evaluate a source - no matter how reliable it seems to be - before using it for your research. Use a TRAP to evaluate materials for quality.
   

Click on thumbnail for larger image
Useful Websites
Visual Arts in Therapy
Art Therapy Credentials Board- The mission of the Art Therapy Credentials Board is to protect the public by promoting the competent and ethical practice of art therapy through the credentialing of art therapy professionals.

Art Therapy blog- The Art Therapy Blog offers recent articles, activities, and educational information for the Art Therapy profession.

Arts & Healing Network- The Arts & Healing Network was created in 1997 as an online resource for anyone interested in the healing potential of art. Here we offer a wealth of information about using art to heal oneself, another person, a community, and/or the planet.

National Guild for Community Arts Education- The National Guild for Community Arts Education supports and advances lifelong learning opportunities in the arts. The guild fosters the creation and development of community arts education organizations by providing research and information resources, professional development, networking opportunities, funding, and advocacy on behalf of the field.

Art Therapy: American Cancer Society- Information on the Art therapy profession from the American Cancer Society.

Art Therapy Research- Gives important information for anyone looking to begin researching art therapy topics. The site offers important areas of research, research questions, and important areas of study involving art therapy.

National Art Exhibitions by the Mentally Ill (NAEMI)- Displays art produced by individuals, usually self-taught and without any formal artistic training, whose work arises from an intense, innate personal vision.

Music Therapy
Certification Board for Music Therapists- CBMT is the only organization to certify music therapists to practice music therapy nationally. The mission of the Certification Board for Music Therapists is to ensure a standard of excellence in the development, implementation, and promotion of an accredited certification program for safe and competent music therapy practice.

Music Therapy Research Blog- This site is aimed for the working music therapy clinician who has the goal of maintaining evidence-based practice.

Dance/Movement Therapy
American Dance Therapy Association Resources- Consists of useful links for, research materials, webinars, information on government affairs, and advocacy.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia- A resource of music, theater, and dance information from the Library of Congress.

Theater/Drama Therapy
Creative Alternatives of New York- Through the use of drama therapy and creative expression in a group setting, CANY helps children and adults expand their self-concept, imagine new life possibilities and build the social and emotional tools they need to live meaningful lives. This site also contains conference recordings, useful links to resources, advocacy information, and event planning.
Citing Sources
General Online Guides
Purdue Online Writing Lab
W.W. Norton's "Write Site" (Little Seagull Handbook publisher)

Copies of the major style manuals can be found at the Information Desk in either Library.
Browsing Creative Arts in Therapy Books
The Sage Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to organize its book collection. Creative Arts in Therapy books can be found in the following sections:
 
GV1-1860 Recreation. Leisure
GV1580-1799.4 Dancing
GV 1588 Philosophy (and theory)
GV 1589 Study and teaching
HM Sociology
HM1001-1281 Social psychology
M Music
ML Literature on music
ML3820 Physiological aspects of music
ML3919-3920 Moral influence of music. Theraputic use of music
MT Instruction and Study
N61-72 Theory. Philosophy. Aesthetics of the visual arts
NB1-1952 Sculpture
NC1-1940 Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND25-3416 Painting
PN2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
PN2061-2071
Art of acting
QM1-695 Human Anatomy
QP1-(981) Phsiology
RC581-951 Specialities of internal medicine
RC952-1245 Special situations and conditions
RD792 – RD811 Orthopedic surgery, physical rehabilitation
RJ499-507 Mental disorders. Child psychiatry
RM695-893 Physical medicine. Physical therapy. Including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, hydrotherapy, phototherapy, radiotherapy, thermotherapy, electrotherapy
RM930-931 Rehabilitation therapy
RM950 Rehabilitation technology
RZ400-408 Mental healing